Arizona Here We Come!

Peter

It feels really good to be back writing our next book, “Bicycling Historic Route 66.” I have been surprised by how much I have missed it. Work, two home remodeling projects, travel, and life in general, have all seemingly conspired to keep me away from writing for the past several weeks, and I have felt a bit off without it. I have come a long way baby.

When I was in elementary school, I would have done anything to avoid reading and writing. The words did not come as easily to me as they did to the other kids. I was afraid to read in public. I survived because of my athleticism and verbal skills, but I was behind. If it had not been for that force of nature who is my mother, I am not sure I would have ever learned to read. I am still a slow reader, but I love to read. I will never be able to fully express the pride I feel to this day when I am able to read out loud in public or express my thoughts, ideas, and feelings through writing.

One of the proudest days of my life was when I presented my mother with a signed copy of our first book, “Coast to Coast on a Tandem,” and I cannot wait to do the same with this book.

Tracy

I spent a few days this week in Wauwatosa, a suburb near Milwaukee, Wisconsin, with my parents. We wrote our first book, “Coast to Coast on a Tandem” in 2017. I, of course, gave a signed copy to my parents. My mother was so proud and read the book immediately. She loved it and was excited that she was in it. For years, she would buy more copies to give to her friends. I lost track of how many she bought! Unfortunately, my mom now has dementia and does not remember reading the book or even that we wrote one. My dad, on the other hand, has never read our book, and he is a voracious reader. I have asked him about it several times and even tease him that it would be great if he read it before he died. Peter thinks it might just be to emotional for him to read it, he is that proud of me. Peter suggested that I try reading sections of the book to my mom and dad. So, I tried it. Mom and I were sitting on the couch, and I asked her if she wanted to hear the chapter she was in. Of course she did. As I was reading, dad walked into the room and took a seat to listen. We talked about the section I read and he remembered it fondly. We then discussed what happened next and other parts of the book. He eventually took the book and told me he guessed he needed to read it, and proceeded to read the prologue. He looked at me when he was done and said it was good, and that he was excited to read the rest. We will see! Hopefully, he will not take so long to read our next book, he would be 95 by then. (Ha-Ha)

Book Writing Update

Peter

We are starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel with “Bicycling Historic Route 66.” Today we entered the great state of Arizona (Chapter 8) which took us nine days to cross. (We must have been pretty excited because we shot four GoPro videos that day. See below.) Arizona is stunningly beautiful, but both the heat and headwinds are building. Will we make it?

California (Chapter 9), our final state, and the Pacific Ocean are next. Once this chapter is done and off to the editor, we will circle back and write the introduction, making sure it ties the Preface and Chapter 1 – State of Wisconsin together, and the Postscript. The postscript will take us from the end of Route 66 on Santa Monica pier to our home here in Green Bay, Wisconsin. From there, we will briefly walk readers through the personal and bicycling highlights (and lowlights) of the next several years that brought us to the point of writing this book. Hang on, it has continued to be quite a ride.

Other tasks that need to be completed include:

-Edit Chapters, 7-9, Preface, Introduction, and Postscript (Editor)

-Book design for Chapters 5-9, Preface, Introduction, and Postscript (Publisher)

-Write our dedications (Tracy and Peter)

-Secure book endorsements (Tracy and Peter) (Let us know if you have any suggestions.)

-Obtain photo waivers (Tracy and Peter)

-Get book ISBN number (Publisher)(“An ISBN, or International Standard Book Number, is a unique number that is assigned to every published book. An ISBN identifies a book’s edition, publisher, and physical properties like trim size, page count, and binding type. An ISBN allows retailers, libraries, and distributors to efficiently search for books.” https://kdp.amazon.com/)

-Back cover design (Publisher)

-Secure printer and print book (Publisher)

-Ramp up marketing (Tracy and Peter)

-And whatever else we have forgotten (Tracy, Peter, and Publisher)

-Share the book with the world (Tracy and Peter)

Clearly, we have some work ahead of us yet, but the light is getting brighter. Thank you for all of your support!

Video(s):

La Posada Hotel, Restaurant, Museum and Gardens
Winslow, Arizona

“La Posada embodies the visions of both Mary Elizabeth Jane Colter, the hotel’s renowned architect, and Allan Affeldt, its current owner. But the story really begins with Fred Harvey, who “civilized the west” by introducing linen, silverware, china, crystal, and impeccable service to railroad travel. (He was so legendary that MGM made a movie called The Harvey Girls starring Judy Garland.) Harvey developed and ran all the hotels and restaurants of the Santa Fe Railway, eventually controlling a hospitality empire that spanned the continent.

In the 1920s, Harvey decided to build a major hotel in the center of northern Arizona. “La Posada”—the Resting Place—was to be the finest in the Southwest. Construction costs alone exceeded $1 million in 1929. Total budget with grounds and furnishings was rumored at $2 million (about $40 million in today’s dollars). They chose Winslow, then (as now) the Arizona headquarters for the Santa Fe Railway. Winslow was ideally situated for a resort hotel since everything to see and do in northern Arizona is a comfortable day’s drive. They asked Colter to design the new hotel.

Colter worked for the Fred Harvey Company from 1905 until her retirement in the 1950s. Although famous for her magnificent buildings at the Grand Canyon, she considered La Posada her masterpiece. Here she was able to design or select everything from the structures to the landscape, furniture, maids’ costumes, and dinner china. Many people consider this the most important and most beautiful building in the Southwest.

After Its Heyday: La Posada’s Fate

La Posada opened May 15, 1930, just after the stock market crash of 1929, and remained open for just 27 years. In 1957, the hotel closed to the public. The museum-quality furnishings were auctioned off in 1959. In the early 1960s, much of the building was gutted and transformed into offices for the Santa Fe Railway. Several times over the ensuing 40 years, the building was nearly demolished, as recently as 1994 when the railway announced its plans to move out for good.

Saving a National Treasure

The National Trust for Historic Preservation found out about La Posada’s peril and added it to their endangered list — where it came to the attention of Allan Affeldt. But La Posada was never for sale. Allan Affeldt purchased it from the Santa Fe Railway after learning that the property was in danger. He visited the hotel in 1994 and decided to help local preservationists save it. This daunting task entailed negotiating for 3 years with the railroad and resolving various legal, environmental, and financial obstacles. He established La Posada LLC to take on the enormous risk and complexity of the estimated $12 million restoration. Allan and his wife Tina Mion moved in April 1, 1997. Daniel Lutzick became the third partner and General Manager.

Although none of the partners is a hotelier by training, they have accomplished what once seemed impossible transforming a forgotten but magical place into a living museum. Allan oversees the overall rehabilitation—design, architecture, financing, and planning. Tina, a renowned artist, paints in her studio upstairs; her art is now an integral part of La Posada experience. Dan, a sculptor, maintains day-to-day operations of the hotel as general manager and coordinates exhibits and events. The president of the Winslow Arts Trust, he operates Snowdrift Art Space down the street at 108 West 2nd.

The property has had its share of famous guests including James Cagney, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Jimmy Stewart, Roy Rogers, Carole Lombard, Amelia Earhart and John Wayne.

History

About Tracy and Peter Flucke

We inspire people to explore the world by bike and foot through our cross-country bicycle adventures, and our book, “Coast to Coast on a Tandem.” This blog details our past trips and provides updates on our current adventure. Enjoy the ride! Tracy and Peter Flucke

Leave a comment